Behavior when new event is triggered before previous callback is done

Apologies for another post without a reproducible example. But unfortunately I think this only becomes relevant for more complex apps. It seems like I often see some some strange behavior when I do something in the UI before all the previous callbacks have finished.

The layout of app is this: I have a master dropdown at the top. Then I have five tabs, each with a div with a table and a graph, that depend on the master dropdown (showing different info). The graphs depend on both the dropdown and the rows selected in the table. Changing the master dropdown updates all the tables/graphs. The divs change visible/invisible depending on the tab selection.

It takes a few seconds for all the graphs/tables to update. It seems that often (again, unfortunately can’t get this to be reproducible) I can get something screwy to happen if I change the tab before all the tables/graphs have updated. Sometimes the content just seems to disappear completely (I get whitespace instead of the div with the graph/table under certain tabs, while other tabs work fine). Sometimes I get graphs that are supposed to be under different tabs both showing up under the same tab.

Any ideas for something I could be doing wrong?

Thanks for reporting! A reproducable example would be really helpful here, even with something like time.sleep(5) inside the callbacks. Screenshots and/or a video/GIF would also be really helpful.

It doesn’t sound like you are doing anything wrong, it sounds like Dash could be dealing with this behaviour more gracefully, but I can’t say for certain without seeing an example unfortunately.

Are you seeing this behaviour with multiple workers (e.g. with gunicorn) or just with the single worker app.run_server?

In the case when multiple long-running callbacks are fired and executed in parallel, there is a chance that the callbacks could return in a different order than they were executed in. For example: