Callback Not Triggered by Diamond Shaped Dash Input Pattern, Feature or Bug?

Hi, I am still new to the dash community, so this might be a stupid question to begin with…

I am puzzled by a bug in my dash app and I was able to distill the issue to this: suppose I have a timer (interval component using dash language) that have two paths going forward, like a diamond shape ( starting from a single timer, down different paths and converge to a single component):

Case 1:
A -> B -> D
and
A -> C -> D
where A is interval component and B/C/D are some components that are updated based on trigger from A.

Everything is fine. And if I break the link A -> C -> D by throwing PreventUpdate inside C, then callback on D is still triggered because there is another route A -> B -> D.

All fine so far.

Now if I add a little extra to the picture:
Case 2:
A -> B -> D
and
A -> C -> C2 -> D
and instead of throwing inside C, I throw PreventUpdate inside C2, then D is NOT Triggered anymore.

The code for the example and output are attached. Can someone explain the logic behind this, or am I simply lucky enough to hit a bug? This solution I have so far is this: instead of using single timer to trigger both routes, I used another trigger A2 to trigger the second path, it works but I still would like to find out if there is a logic behind the fact that Case 1 works but Case 2 does not.

thanks!

import dash
import dash_core_components as dcc
import dash_html_components as html
from dash.dependencies import *

app = dash.Dash()

app.layout = html.Div([
    dcc.Interval(id='A', interval=3000),
    html.Div(id='B'),
    html.Div(id='C'),
    html.Div(id='C2'),
    html.Div(id='D')
])

@app.callback(
    Output('B', 'children'),
    [Input('A', 'n_intervals')]
)
def update_b(x):
    print('in B')
    return 'b'

n = 0

@app.callback(
    Output('C2', 'children'),
    [Input('C', 'children')]
)
def update_c2(c):
    print('in C2')
    global n
    n += 1
    if n % 2:
        print(n)