DataTable with filtering as well as components within cells

Hello,

I’m pretty new to Dash and a little bit confused by what is possible with it and what not. So far I got a tabbed app with DataTables including filtering and sorting in each tab. That works perfectly fine.

However I need to display additional information for some data cells by clicking or hovering them using for example tool tips or popups. As far as I understood the DataTables only allow pure text as cell content (at least I didn’t manage do get HTML code or other components in there. This PR here looks like it would perfectly fit my needs: https://github.com/plotly/dash-table-experiments/pull/11
But when I use data_table_experiments instead of data_table filtering is not available anymore:

TypeError: Unexpected keyword argument `filtering`
Allowed arguments: column_widths, columns, editable, enable_drag_and_drop, filterable, filters, header_row_height, id, 
max_rows_in_viewport, min_height, min_width, resizable, row_height, row_scroll_timeout, row_selectable, row_update, rows, 
selected_row_indices, sortColumn, sortDirection, sortable, tab_index

It seems like filtering is done differently in data_table_experiments compared to data_table or not working at all. In addition it seems like data_table_experiments would be deprecated now.

Any help getting dash data_tables with filtering and components within cells to work would be very appreciated.

It is, just not that keyword called “filtering”. I recommend starting from scratch with the dash table user guide that I wrote, it explains everything: Dash DataTable | Dash for Python Documentation | Plotly

This was always just a prototype feature. For a variety of reasons, it turned out much more difficult to get to work across all use cases, so we won’t be doing this feature in the immediate future.

However, for the particular use case of tooltips in cells, we’re considering adding that to dash_table. What else would you want in cells?