How to do a Multi-Level Dropdowns

Well this question has been raised before several times. I am assuming the functionality is still not available…

Example of a multiple level dropdown

I am not an expert of html, the biggest question which keeps bugging me is that I can reuse many different html elements online. I do not know how to to fetch these possible values. Is there a way to communicate with python with the hyperlink? Or is Javascript needed?

Have you checked out dash-bootstrap-components? I suspect this would work as DropdownMenu could be a child-member who’s parent is also of the same type. I haven’t tried it but it seems possible.

1 Like

Thank you for your solution. Indeed it is working.

html.Div(
dbc.DropdownMenu(
label="Menu",
children=[
    dbc.DropdownMenu(
    children=[
        dbc.DropdownMenuItem("Item 1"),
        dbc.DropdownMenuItem("Item 2"),
    ],
    ),
    dbc.DropdownMenuItem("Item 3"),
],
))

Will give a dropdown within the dropdown with the default dbc.themes.BOOTSTRAP. There is only one problem of the inner dropdown does not seem to close/collapse itself.

Yeah…i haven’t tried doing this before - you may need to create a couple callbacks to handle the closing of the inner dropdown(s).

Hi, I was wondering if you manage to figure out some way to make the inner dropdown collapse.

Hey all. I was also wondering if this issue has been solved or a workaround found??

I’m trying to get nested menus going with dbc.Dropdownmenu. Same issue that I can’t get the parent menu to collapse when you click on an element in a nested dropdown.

I’ve tried being cheeky with an client side javascript query in my Dash coded. I can get it to change focus to a different element on detection of a click event from a nested item, BUT it still doesn’t collapse the first menu which is really annoying.